Boozer

Guest bigorangedog

Guest bigorangedog

We adopted Boozer when he was almost 13. He left us 5 days after his 14th birthday, a tough and determined little guy. The smallest boy I've ever seen. He left us a week and a half after our Tobey (who we've had for 9 years). I haven't been able to write Tobey's Remembrance yet.

My Little Boo –

I am so grateful that you came to be with us for the last year and a half of your life. But I think back to all of your life that I missed, and I am sad. You were running at Dairyland when I graduated from college. When I adopted my first greyhound, you were running at Southland. All of that seems a lifetime ago, and for you it was. To think that if our paths had crossed sooner, I could have been your momma for as long as I was Palu and Tobey’s momma. I wish I had known you all that time.

I hope with all my heart that you knew love with your old family. That they deserved to have those 9 years with you. I want to hate them for returning you after all that time; I could not have returned you after knowing you for 9 minutes, let alone 9 years. I will never understand that. But in the end I am just thankful that you came to me finally.

I knew from the first moment I saw you that I would love you fiercely and deeply. That I would do anything to protect you and make you happy.

I also knew that you were almost 13 years old, and that any time I had with you would be a gift. You gave us a beautiful year and a half, far more than I had any right to expect. And every day I felt lucky to have you.

Everything feels empty without you here. I don’t have you to check on tonight, to make sure that you are safe and nested into your bed, resting comfortably. You’ve been constantly on my radar for all this time, and I find myself watching to make sure none of the young ones bump into you and knock you down, or take your favorite bed. Even with all these other dogs here, I don’t know what to do without you to take care of.