Bijou Is Heading For A Dental Monday

I know a dental should not be a big deal, but Bijou is 12 and getting a little frail so I worry. I can tell there will probably be an extraction or two. I take her to our GPA vet Monday morning bright and early and if all goes well back home that afternoon. Bijou was my 2nd houndie and I think she has something in her DNA that says bad teeth...:lol My first, Isis, lived to 13 before the Big C took her and never had dental issues. So if there is extractions, this is a whole new area I have no experience with.

If there are any teeth extractions, I was wondering if it should feed her some soft canned foods for a few days after just to give the gums some healing time?

newsig1127ab_zps4af4600d.jpg
Isis, Always in my Heart Bijou, My Sweetest Angel

The vet should give you instructions. Good luck, Bijou! Summer just had a dental, too, and came through with flying colors. I'm sure you'll do fine and your mouth will smell wonderful afterwards! There are a LOT more kisses coming your way once the nasty smells are taken care of!

SummerGreytalkSignatureResized-1.jpg

Lisa B.

My beautiful Summer - to her forever home May 1, 2010 Summer

Certified therapy dog team with St. John Ambulance

Greg,

The vet will give you instructions, my vet always says soft food for 10 days even when there were no extractions.

And don't be too concerned if she doesn't want to eat when she comes home. I am also very careful with their water intake when they first get home. Some of them want to down a lot and they end up throwing up.

Many many prayers for an easy dental for the most beautiful girl in the world!

Edited by CaliforniaGreys

Claudia-noo-siggie.jpg

Missing my little Misty who took a huge piece of my heart with her on 5/2/09, and Ekko, on 6/28/12

:candle For the sick, the lost, and the homeless

Guest Energy11

Hi Greg!