Eating Cat Poop

A friend's non-greyhound has started snacking from the kitty litter box. This is a relatively new behavior.

The layout of her apartment is such that it would be difficult to put up barriers. Plus her boyfriend has mobility issues, so that limits gating.

She's asked me about the food additives to discourage poop eating. We use a product that works for Charlie about 90% of the time.

But she's dealing with a dog eating cat poop. Is there a product she can feed her cats that will deter her dog from wanting it?

I have zero experience with cats, so any suggestions for my friend are welcome.

Freshy (Droopys Fresh), NoAh the podenco orito, Rita the podenco maneta, Howie the portuguese podengo maneto
Angels:  Lila, the podenco, Mr X aka Denali, Lulu the podenco andaluz, Hada the podenco maneta, Georgie Girl (UMR Cordella),  Charlie the iggy,  Mazy (CBR Crazy Girl), Potato, my mystery ibizan girl, Allen (M's Pretty Boy), Percy (Fast But True), Mikey (Doray's Patuti), Pudge le mutt, Tessa the iggy, Possum (Apostle), Gracie (Dusty Lady), Harold (Slatex Harold), "Cousin" Simon our step-iggy, Little Dude the iggy ,Bandit (Bb Blue Jay), Niña the galgo, Wally (Allen Hogg), Thane (Pog Mo Thoine), Oliver (JJ Special Agent), Comet, & Rosie our original mutt.

tiny hada siggy.png

I doubt it. Litter pan in the bathroom, cat door or gate the dog out. Or maybe a kitchen cabinet? Anyplace that can be secured from the dog will do.

Chris - Mom to: Felicity (DeLand), and Andi (Braska Pandora)

52592535884_69debcd9b4.jpgsiggy by Chris Harper, on Flickr

Angels: Libby (Everlast), Dorie (Dog Gone Holly), Dude (TNJ VooDoo), Copper (Kid's Copper), Cash (GSI Payncash), Toni (LPH Cry Baby), Whiskey (KT's Phys Ed), Atom, Lilly

Guest Scouts_mom

Put a large box upside down over the litter box. Cut a hole for the cat to get in. You may need to weight it down so the dog doesn't flip it over.