How To Give Pills

My boy just got home from the vet last night with a ton of pills, and a very strict diet. He's being treated for possible IBD along with a bunch of other things and is not interested in the food he was on and what they recommend (which is Hill's prescription d/d venison & potato).

So, aside from the food issue, I cannot get the pills in him even caving in and using a different canned food for them and plain yogurt. He's as frustrated as I am at this point and he is not eating at all now.

Any ideas on what is tasty but easy on the tummy I can try? Or do I just toss them down his throat? I've never done that before and it scares me that he'll choke or hate me ever coming near him again. We have several weeks of this and this is only day 1 :(

Forever in my heart: my girl Raspberry & my boys Quiet Man, Murphy, Ducky, Wylie & Theo
www.greyhoundadventures.org & www.greyhoundamberalert.org & www.duckypaws.com

Why do you need to give food at all? Just open the dog's mouth and stick the pill way as far back down by the throat as you can, then if necessary close their mouth to make sure they swallow. Those greyhound "crocodile jaws" make it super easy to get your fingers in to stick the pill way back. I've never had the slightest problem pilling Beth that way -- much easier than pilling a cat, which I do twice a day as is. I do it right before I feed her (the food already ready to go in the bowl) so she swallows it down and then quickly turns her attention to the food. Then I go wash the houndie saliva off my fingers.

Edited by PrairieProf

With Cocoa (DC Chocolatedrop), missing B for Beth (2006-2015)
And kitties C.J., Klara, Bernadette, John-Boy, & Sinbad

If he can have venison and potato food, then he could have plain mashed potatoes. What I would do is tell him, "Time for your pills," stuff them down his throat, then "Good boy!" and big blob of mashed potatoes or his canned food for a treat.