What Is More Important - Rating Of Kibble - Or How Your Dogs Do On It?

I had been using the Kirkland Chicken and Rice for five years, and everyone did well on it. Gizzy was not overly enthusiastic about it, and often need 'extras' on top to get her to eat. After the last kibble scare with Diamond products I no longer feel confident in using the Kirkland food. Switching kibble is difficult because Riley does not do well on wheat. So I tried multiple different brands over a couple of month period and none of them agreed with all four dogs. (slow switch over three weeks) That is until I tried Purina One Smart Blend - Lamb and Rice. THEY LOVE IT!! I mean they run to their bowls and lick them clean. All four have coats that are shiny and soft, and they have the best poop I have ever seen. I am talking firm, compact, roll down the hill poop! All three girls have lost their 'soft' appearance and look very fit, svelte and trim. Gizzy has suddenly reengaged with the family and is playing and wanting attention. Until the switch she was a very old ten, now she has a bounce in her step.

So why am I complaining? Why am I looking a 'poop gift horse' in the mouth? Because it is Purina One that they are doing so well on. I just don't know what to think. I have never been a food snob, and truthfully I feel that some of those extremely overpriced 'specialty' brands are - well, I guess not necessarily as good as their hype. But I worry that Purina One does not get a great rating on some of those online kibble reports. In fact it gets below average. Of course they are comparing it to $3 a pound specialty blends, so really there is no comparison. I just want to have my four on a decent kibble that agrees with Riley's allergy issues. The Purina One is reasonable in price and readily available at multiple sources.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

6467ec15.jpg

gallery_9381_2904_4242.jpg

Molly Weasley Carpenter-Caro - 6 Year Old Standard Poodle.