Afraid dog will bite waking from sleep

Hi all,

I recently got a fantastic new 2 year old greyhound. I would never have realised I was such a dog person but I absolutely adore him. In the evening he loves nothing more than lying on my lap and cuddling into me. When he sleeps he has his muscle twitch racing dreams and I recently read about startle reflex where the animal can bite if they are woken suddenly from a sleep like that and to be honest it freaks me out a little bit. Does any one have any thoughts?

Second question I would love a really good training reference online/book as I know nothing about dogs and I’d love to begin a little train regime with him as much for the bonding experience as for anything else. 

All tips to a complete novice would be really appreciated. Thank you. 

Cynthia Brannigan's books about retired racing greyhounds, and Retired Racing Greyhounds for Dummies are both required reading for our adoption group before we adopt out any of our dogs.  I, personally, have also found any of Patricia McConnell's dog behavior books to be very helpful in understanding dog behavior in general.  

<p>Mom to Kyle (Diehard Kyle) & Angel Gracie (KB's Sankey) Foster Mom for AFG

Here is something to learn about dogs...it is an old old saying that has been around a long time: "Let sleeping dogs lie."  Leave the dog alone when he sleeps. Would you like being bothered while you were trying to rest/sleep?  If you just leave them alone when they sleep then you don't have to worry about startle responses or any other responses.  :inlove

Greyhounds are used to sleeping in kennels with noone touching them....  While I do sleep with some of mine, others are clearly a bit risky for sleep aggression because of their unique upbringing.  Also, they can appear awake when they are not...be cautious of that.

gallery_22387_3315_35426.jpg