Introducing Eli (And His Loyal Human)

Roo

Hi everyone! Most online folks call me Roo, but I realize that's kind of a common word around here - it's actually followed me around the internet from another site where I went by Roo specifically because our Grey at the time was so talkative - she roo'ed all the time! Anyway, enough about the boring human... The doggy bit of this story is much more interesting (and pardon the length - I'm also a writer, so I tend to get long-winded..oops!). This whole adoption story has been like one big dream.

I grew up with Greys - my parents thought a Greyhound would be the perfect first dog for me, since I was terrified of most dogs because they were all so bouncy and excitable and Greys were...relatively calm and sweet and friendly. Our first was Regis (racing name War Talk, referred to around the kennel as Friendly, and named Regis by the family who had him before us), and the day I met him (I was 7 and he was 5) he walked up, nosed me on the shirt, and stood next to me for the rest of the day, almost as if to say "She's my human."

9331_1146719593577_223480_n.jpg

After Regis passed away (from osteo), we waited a couple years and adopted Dusty (SE's Dust Devil). When we went to the kennel for our first visits, she wasn't originally on our list. We adopted another boy, but returned him the next day because he bit me (I hadn't done anything to him - in fact, I was offering him a treat in the middle of the room and he just...bit me). The kennel manager found a foster home for the boy we returned and offered to let us foster-to-adopt another dog. My parents had a nice long list, but when I walked by Dusty's cage, she just stared at me, wagging. I told them we had to meet her and we all fell in love. She was only with us for about 4 years.

254212_1823496432575_886747_n.jpg