Ali's Ashes Are Back

stlgrey

My vet hospital sent a letter letting me know her ashes are ready to be picked up. What should I expect when I go get them. I have never done this before. Do you think it might be a good idea for my brother to go get them for me? I just don't think I am ready to set foot in their right now after what happened to weeks ago.

Guest Lovemyhound

Well, essentially when you go pick them up, you will arrive, tell them what you are there for and they will bring you a (most likely) little wooden box with your pup's ashes tucked neatly inside. Usually they are in some other sort of bag in another decorative bag inside the box. Some people choose to then purchase their own vessel of sorts to permanently store the ashes. My bridge boys ashes are in a nice velvet bag inside an engraved wooden box with a gold nameplate on the front.

When I went to pick up mine, I told myself not to cry - I had been sobbing for days. I thought I could be strong enough to walk in their and pick him up but the second I saw the box, my heart squeezed. :( I was alone - as I recall I was on my way home from work. So, it will be hard for you I'm sure. Maybe your brother will go with you? I remember the box felt so heavy, heavier than I thought it would be.

Be strong, keep your chin up, but remember it's ok to let yourself cry. :grouphug

For me it is alway a strange kind of comfort when I have to go get one of my babies. I'm said b/c of what has happen but, comforted that they are coming home.

waiting at the bridge Connie Van Teddy & Jojo, Cobra

Guest brandi007