Getting My First Greyhound This Weekend And Have Some Anxiety

Guest RealClearBlue

Guest RealClearBlue

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum but i'm a long term lurker due to falling into the greyhound addiction and I don't even have one yet!

Anyways this weekend we will be meeting our potential hound through the local adoption group and will hopefully be settling on one on the same day. I've already have his crate setup, toys, and dog proofed the house to some extent. However I think my over prepping for the dog's arrival has made me develop anxiety to some extent. I've read through Cynthia's book and working through the for dummies book (much harder read imo) and all the information that is out there is a bit overwhelming as far as being mentally prepared for the dog. There is a underlying fear that I'll miss something or not remember something and it will result in a bad outcome.

Just to give some background, me and my significant other have had dogs as kids but having a dog as an adult where we are solely responsible for its well-being is a first for both of us. I feel like I prepared as much as possible but there is always that fear that its not enough.

To cut it short, I wanted to get everyone's input on the routine they went through when they first got their grey and what behavioral issues they had to deal with and how you addressed them? Every story is welcomed!

Edited by RealClearBlue

You can establish any routine that works for your household. Greyhounds are so adaptable. They usually catch on very quickly. Consistency is a must for success. Just relax and enjoy your new hound and if something comes up that you need help with, well GT is here. Feel free to ask for help if you need it.

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee