Losing A Leg-Gaining A Life

Guest Greyhoundartist

Guest Greyhoundartist

Hi-

Many of you may know that about 8 weeks ago my boy 'Perry', a rescue Whippet, went through surgery

and it was neccesary to amputate his leg.

With Perry being a senior, it was a difficult decision to make.

I recieved much advise, some saying not to go through with this while others stated he will do fine.

After much thought and research and knowing that he was a healthy senior, the decision was made to proceed.

The post surgery was traumatic visually.

Seeing my boy trying to stand, walk etc. was difficult to watch to say the least.

But it was clear, after just a few days, that he would be fine.

It takes time, patience and much strength to get through this but being a self-employed artist I am fortunate enough to be able to work from home and provide 24-7 attention.

Now, 8 weeks later, my boy is incredible. He has managed to adjust and does extremely well on 3 legs. He turned 14 years old on August 4th.

Nothing could have been a greater gift than to have my boy doing so well.

I truly believe that Everyday is a Blessing.

I want to thank all of you who have kept my boy in your prayers and thoughts.

I will always be grateful to you all who have supported my artwork over the years.

The kindness you have shown will never be forgotten.

Thank you-

Kevin Z.

Glad to hear Perry is doing so well. May you have many more years together!

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee

Kevin,

Very glad Perry is doing well! These pups can get around fine on three legs and it makes them all that more special. I hope you continue to have many many more happy moments together.