Spooks & Shy Dogs Poll

Spooks & Shy Dogs  

258 members have voted

1. 1. How many total greyhounds have you and your family adopted (past and present)?

• 20 or more
  2. 2. How many of them do (or did) you consider to be true spooks?

• 10 or more
  3. 3. How many of them do (or did) you consider to be very shy (beyond the usual transition fears)?

• 10 or more

I am no expert and have never had a spook but for the purposes of this poll, I would describe one has the type of dog who cowers in the corner, trembles, won't look at you or let you touch them, runs and hides from everyone, seems afraid of nearly everything and takes a long time to even begin to relax in the home and let you approach them.... things like that.

I would describe a very shy dog as the type who has more than just the typical apprehension of new things and people when they first come into your home. They retreat but can be coaxed out with some extra effort. They do come out of their shells to a degree but it usually takes them longer and they may always have some difficulty facing certain things and just need a little help getting past them.

I think both types have the potential for being just as happy as any other greyhound and they possess all of the qualities we love so much about the breed. I don't think I will ever find another dog as good as my shy boy, Onyx. So I don't want to give the impression that this poll is implying anything negative about shy and spooky dogs. I am just curious about how many there are and anything else you want to share about them.

Jenn

Edited because I spelled my own dog's name wrong. Sorry, Onyx!

Edited by jenn8
gallery_3252_2927_10878.jpg

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

5 greyhounds total.

One super spook. Miss Pearl. I agree Pearl is just as happy as my other hounds.........IN her safe zone. Not out of it. Her safe / comfort zone is home. She can function out and about; I insisted she do so.