Newly adopted greyhound growls at my daughter

Hi all, we have recently taken on a retired greyhound (4 weeks) and everything has been pretty great until a few days ago. Our neutered boy has started growling at our almost 14 year old daughter. 

She has been feeding him, walking him, he curls up on the couch with her but suddenly it all changes. She could come back from the kitchen and he stares at her and then starts growling. He has started to go towards her while he growls and it is pretty unsettling as I can see absolutely no reason for this behaviour. She was on the couch just after feeding him and then left the room to go to the toilet but as she came back down the stairs he approached the door barking and growling. 

Any thoughts or suggestions on what could be the cause or potential solutions would be ideal.

I have no experience of this behaviour myself, but I think others might recommend that you stop him from going on the sofa. He could be guarding his space, so give him a space that is out of the way and truly his own and that he doesn’t have to share with anyone else. 

Buddy Molly 🌈 5/11/10-10/10/23

This is not an unusual situation, but you don't want it to escalate.

He needs to lose his couch privileges. Tell him "off" and lead him off the couch. Do not pull on his collar, hook a leash to it but again don't pull. Have a food treat ready to give after he is off the couch. Do the same thing if he is getting up on any human beds.

Do not hesitate to put a muzzle on him until he understands the rules.

Freshy (Droopys Fresh), NoAh the podenco orito, Howie the portuguese podengo maneto