Weak Or Arthritic?

Since I have some experience with LS in Kasey, I'm now beginning to see the signs in Ryder. I'm curious if his back legs are getting weak or if he's getting arthritis or both? He's started to grunt a lot, which he never really used to do. It's one of those old age, sink into the bed comfy moans I presume, but this is a new thing. Happens in the middle of the night when I don't hear him stirring either. I'm not familiar with how to identify arthritis. He shows no pain if I manipulate his joints - but alas he is a stoic greyhound.

How do I tell the difference between his legs being weak vs his legs being in pain? He's often fallen up the stairs (I had to help him up them yesterday one paw at a time). In addition I've noticed that it seems like one of his back legs falls asleep after lying on it in the wrong position/too long as he sort of stiffens his leg and is careful to use it for the first 30-45 seconds after getting up - but I gather this could also be pain?

He's on Gabapentin twice a day, 300 mg each dosing due to disc bulges in his neck which have brought him a new lease on life and is approaching his first double digit birthday in October. I wonder if I should bump it to 400x2? Do I start visiting the idea of Metacam etc.? Thoughts?

Proudly owned by:
10 year old "Ryder" CR Redman Gotcha May 2010
12.5 year old Angel "Kasey" Goodbye Kasey Gotcha July 2005-Aug 1, 2015

I know Gabapentin only has a life of about 8 hours so dosing every 8 hours might help more. Our Larry (also with LS and neck issues) is on 100mg 3 x day, for now. Also on 3.75 mg of Meloxicam. ? I'm not sure about 300 mg every 8, I'd check with your vet first....