(Starz Lee) Max Acting Strangely Again

I was out of town over the weekend by my DH and teenaged son were home. 9 year old hound started going outside and not coming in despite cold and rain. He would just lay In the grass. Seemed OK Monday and Tuesday if a little off. Yesterday again constantly going out, occasional yips. Laying in rain. Took him to vet who could find nothing wrong. (Last year he had a probable neck strain or disc issue and did steroid taper and pain meds for 5 weeks and recovered though still refuses to go upstairs). Waiting on senior panel and other blood and urine tests. I'm a people nurse and my instinct is diabetes or a swallowing problem but who knows. Any thoughts? Giving him his old GABA and tramadol that I have on hand and vet said ok since we don't know what's bothering him. It has calmed him. Could he be having more neck or joint issues? Same time of year as last year when he starts walking a little further due to better weather here in Chi-town. Thanks!

Don't have any suggestions, but my Max started doing something similar not so long ago:

http://forum.greytalk.com/index.php/topic/320617-max-sleeping-outside-at-3-am/

About the only answer I got was, maybe he just likes it outside now that the weather is getting nicer (i.e. not snow). Hope you figure it out for your guy...

Rob
Logan (April 7, 2010 - July 9, 2023) - LoganMaxicon15K.jpg - Max (August 4, 2004 - January 11, 2018)

You mention a possible swallowing problem. Is he eating and drinking ok?

Freshy (Droopys Fresh), NoAh the podenco orito, Howie the portuguese podengo maneto