Are Cherry Trees Dangerous To Greys ?

Guest undergreysspell

Guest undergreysspell

I have 5 acres of mostly pine trees and grass that I keep mowed and clean of branches so the dogs can run and explore . There are also a few wild black cherry and cherry laurels that I have kept because the squirrels and birds love to eat the fruit. I am new to having greyhounds and because of the way my girl loves to graze, it concerns me that she might eat the fruit or leaves. The pits and leaves contain a poison that is toxic to cows and horses especially . Does anyone have these trees and do you know of any dogs that have been poisoned by these trees ? I am considering cutting them all down, but since the other wildlife benefits from them I don't want to unless they aren't safe for the dogs. I can't watch them every second when they're out in the yard and might miss them munching on some of the fallen fruit. Anyone have these trees ?

The fruit -minus the pit - is OK, but you really don't want them to eat a lot of whole fruits. The pits can be toxic though I'm not sure in what quantity.

Chris - Mom to: Felicity (DeLand), and Andi (Braska Pandora)

52592535884_69debcd9b4.jpgsiggy by Chris Harper, on Flickr

Angels: Libby (Everlast), Dorie (Dog Gone Holly), Dude (TNJ VooDoo), Copper (Kid's Copper), Cash (GSI Payncash), Toni (LPH Cry Baby), Whiskey (KT's Phys Ed), Atom, Lilly

the leaves are chock full of cyanide compounds. so are the inside of the pits. in some cherry species, the fruit is also contaminated until it is ripe. the cherry plant evolved to allow animals to eat the fruit after the seed is developed and to distribute the pits/seeds in their poo. apparently the poisonous parts are quite bitter & it's unlikely they are eaten on purpose, unless you have a wierd doggie.

Regards,
Wayne Kroncke

CAVE CANEM RADIX LECTI ET SEMPER PARATUS
Vegetarians: My food poops on your food.

Cherry laurel fruits are toxic for humans, I believe.