Hello From Westchester County

Guest Fluffy

Guest Fluffy

Hello all! I'm Karen (though I also answer to "Fluffy") and I just joined today, although I've been obsessively reading this forum for months in preparation for getting my first grey (who is also my first dog). I am a research assistant for a living, which means that being obsessive about details and collating data for fun like this are just part of the job!

Last Saturday, April 10th, I finally got my wish and brought home Red Badge, a two-year-old red boy who I am calling Badger. He was adopted through Greyhound Friends of NJ, who have been great. I went to their adoption day thinking I would probably pick a small black female, but once I was there I just kept coming back to Badger no matter how many other dogs I met. So now I have a 75lb male who could still stand to put on 5 pounds or so!

Here is Badger grinning after a walk:

4527324040_ccb12e6b16_m.jpg

He's been with me almost a week now, and I think he's finally starting to settle in and get the hang of this home-living thing. I'm getting play bows and bouncing happiness out of him now, whereas in the first few days he...slept in his crate. And also slept in his crate. And ate, and then went back to his crate to sleep. After a few days of wondering if I was doing things all wrong, I was ridiculously excited when he actually came to me tonight, demanding scritches! He loves his stuffing-less squeaky fox and has a passion for peanut butter (but hey, who doesn't?).