Carprofen or Galliprant

My understanding is that Carprofen can be given as needed while Galliprant is administered every day. Given Punkin's propensity toward episodes of pancreatitis, our vet is strongly recommending Galliprant as it is supposed to be less stressful on the GI tract. It's just so darned expensive, but Punkin will get what she needs. 

Thoughts appreciated on your experience with either or both meds. Thank you!

Edited by FiveRoooooers

Old Dogs are the Best Dogs. :heartThank you, campers. Current enrollees:  Punkin. AnnIE Oooh M

Angels: Pal :heart. Segugio. Sorella (TPGIT). LadyBug. Zeke-aroni. MiMi Sizzle Pants. Gracie. Seamie :heart:brokenheart. (Foster)Sweet. Andy. PaddyALVIN!Mayhem. Bosco. Bruno. Dottie B. Trevor Double-Heart. Bea. Cletus, KLTO. Aiden 1-4.

:paw Upon reflection, our lives are often referenced in parts defined by the all-too-short lives of our dogs.

Jan, I've no experience with either but will mention to check prices at many pharmacies.  There is an amazing variation in the cost of a drug between pharmacies.  Years ago, looking for Gabapentin for Piper, I found monthly supplies for a price range of $300 down to $35. 

gallery_2398_3082_9958.jpg
Lucy with Greyhound Nate and OSH Tinker. With loving memories of MoMo (FTH Chyna Moon), Spirit, Miles the slinky kitty (OSH), Piper "The Perfect" (Oneco Chaplin), Winston, Yoda, Hector, and Claire.

Of the 2, we've only used Carprofen and found the price to be better for one a couple of generic variations. The one we usually end up with is called TruProfen and we get it from the Sam's Club Pharmacy at the best price. I think we also picked it up once from the vet at a pretty competitive price. If you haven't previously used Chewy Pet Pharmacy, there is often a 20% off coupon for first time customers of the Chewy Pet Pharmacy, and you can also often use a Good RX discount code at Heartland Vet Supply. 

rocket-signature-jpeg.jpg