Adding A Second Hound

Guest Marie

Guest Marie

Hello guys!

I'm pretty new here but I have been reading your posts for almost a year. We adopted our first greyhound in march after our 14 year old boxer died. His name is Chase (was Cayenne Thunder). He turned two recently.

I was a vet technician for 10 years before I became a teacher and I had decided long ago that my next dog would be a retired racer, because giving a home to a grey in need felt like the right thing to do. I had met one or two and had herd they were good dogs but nothing prepares you for a greyhound.

Chase is such a good little boy I decided that we should open our hearts, and our home to a second dog. Our current baby is good with cats, children and very very nice to other dogs. He is more submissive and approaches other dogs with respect but not fear. Ill admit he is easily bossed around by other dogs (male of female) and lets the other one take the lead. He does play and enjoy their company.

Here is my question; our adoption group says that adopting an older female may be better for Chase than getting a second male that might boss him around. What are your experiences?

Thank you so much!

Marie

Sorry if my english isn't perfect, we live in Québec Canada, frenchie here! ;)

Guest Clawsandpaws

Bonjour! (Sorry, that is the extent of my French/Quebecois!)

I only have experience of what I observe in the adoption kennel. My personal experience is that females tend to be more bossy than the boys. However, it really boils down to the individual hound, most of the senior girls I know (in a home) are VERY bossy with their house-siblings. I have also met some males who are big jerks with other boys. So you should really just pick a dog based on their individual personality, and that may be an older lady, or another boy :) hopefully some more experienced people will chime in.