Roo Is Crying In Pain

Guest WarmheartedPups

Guest WarmheartedPups

Last Thursday Roo was dx with Lyme Disease and a cervical disc problem. She was in a lot of pain...very stiff...limping etc. The Vet started her on Doxycycline for the Lyme and Prednisone for her neck. She started feeling better the next day and has continued to improve each day.

So last night and tonight....she was sleeping...lying on her side...not moving....and she started to cry in pain....she cried and yelped for about thirty seconds...sat up....tried to lay back down...which created more yelping.....then it passed and she was fine....both times.

It really scared me.....my husband thinks its a muscle spasm....I will call the Vet first think in the a.m.

Does anyone have a clue what this could be?

Oh dear. I am so sorry about Roo's problems.

It's bedtime, but I feel it's important to share this. While I am no expert on Lyme Disease, all four of my hounds have had back issues - two with cervical vertebrae that get out of whack.

A few weeks ago, the senior hound I adopted in July (he's 12 now) collapsed on the way back in from a 6 am potty. He had been restless for a few nights and I figured his back was probably bothering him. I planned to call the chiropractor but simply hadn't made the call yet.

Anyway, after his lower half (if you will) collapsed he could not get up or walk. Honestly, he was like a mermaid out of water. He was panting very hard, his heart was racing, and his eyes glazed over. I wasn't sure if he had suffered a little stroke or if it was strictly back pain.

I made him comfortable and in a few hours called the chiropractor who came out late morning and adjusted my boy while he was down. She said his pelvis was out as well as a few cervical vertebrae. After she adjusted him, with enthusiastic coaxing, he got up on his own without assistance. I swear I thought it was the day I would have to say goodbye.