How Do You Guys Stop Counter Surfing?

Guest mpportraits

Guest mcsheltie

I don't leave anything out on the counters. When I am working in the kitchen the dogs stay back away from me.

I have a line (imaginary) they must stay behind. Which is three feet around me. Each time they cross it I say back and walk into them and push them backwards. I do not use my hands. It is work the first few days, because every time they take a step across the "line" you have to move them back. But they are smart and it doesn't take that long.

I never walk away and leave stuff on the counters. Some people rig boobie traps. But I think it is easier (and more fair too) not to give them any temptation.

Guest AGirlNamedMe

We've only had Bella for about 10 days, so I am not an expert - and this solution may prove to be only temporary. Now..with disclosures out of the way....

If Bella starts sniffing at the counter, we redirect her beautiful snout by either talking with her or making a small noise. If she gets her nose right up on the counter, a short but sharp sound will get her to stop.

The one time she put her paws up on the counter, I was so shocked, that I shouted, "HEY!" really loud in her direction. She's not done that again. :eek

I would totally booby trap the place if she was doing it regularly or if we weren't catching her. Booby trapping doesn't seem very kind on the surface, but it's either one good reprimand or a constant stream of them. As for having nothing on my counters - I'm not a perfect person, I leave things out sometimes all of the time.

xo

Guest TBSFlame

We've only had Bella for about 10 days, so I am not an expert - and this solution may prove to be only temporary. Now..with disclosures out of the way....

If Bella starts sniffing at the counter, we redirect her beautiful snout by either talking with her or making a small noise. If she gets her nose right up on the counter, a short but sharp sound will get her to stop.