I've had my greyhound for nearly two months now, he's been settling in well - however he has recently become more hyper (hes nearly two so still quite young)

I was told how lazy and calm greyhounds where and the adoption kennels told me not to be put off by a young hound as they where also calm!

I work as a dog walker so my greyhound sometimes gets up to three hours of walking a day. He used to be super calm during the walks but has recently started lunging at other dogs, barking and jumping around. Even after he's had three hours of walking when I get home he charges around the house throwing his toys everywhere and takes a while to settle. It can be abit overwhelming as its not a very big apartment.

I feed him on Skinners duck and rice.

Is this just an age thing he'll grow out of or lack of training? Any other ideas to help calm him down!?

Thanks! :)

Short answer is Yes! He's very young - still a puppy really, no matter his size and age - and will likely grow out of thus hyper stage. It's good that he's getting a good amount of exercise, though if you can find a place for him to safely run off leash it will help a bit more.

Obedience training can help too. It will get him to focus better and give you some tools to use his energy.

FWIW, our newest was only 18 months when we got her and she was exactly like your new boy. She's 2 1/2 now and has calmed down significantly.

Chris - Mom to: Felicity (DeLand), and Andi (Braska Pandora)

52592535884_69debcd9b4.jpgsiggy by Chris Harper, on Flickr

Angels: Libby (Everlast), Dorie (Dog Gone Holly), Dude (TNJ VooDoo), Copper (Kid's Copper), Cash (GSI Payncash), Toni (LPH Cry Baby), Whiskey (KT's Phys Ed), Atom, Lilly

I've had my greyhound for nearly two months now, he's been settling in well - however he has recently become more hyper (hes nearly two so still quite young)

I was told how lazy and calm greyhounds where and the adoption kennels told me not to be put off by a young hound as they where also calm!