Biotene For Bad Teeth

maximum

Max has really bad teeth, and is down to 13 teeth. He has a dental coming up and I have to basically decide if we take the remaining teeth out to avoid future dentals (he is 11) or keep them and try everything possible to keep them. To this end, I was looking at buying Biotene to help him out, after reading about it here on GT. But when I went to buy it, I saw that it had xylitol in it - which I thought was a huge no-no for dogs!!?? :blink:

Sooo, is there another type of Biotene out there that doesn't have Xylitol? I don't think I want to use it, if it does have xylitol in it... :unsure

My boys, together again...

cedarlodge2010027_zpsc250b3bf-1_zps9f4d4

A hui hou kakou, my loves

I've been using it for almost 2 years and it was my vet who told me to use it.

I also called UC Davis to ask about it and it's safe to use on the dogs

Claudia-noo-siggie.jpg

Missing my little Misty who took a huge piece of my heart with her on 5/2/09, and Ekko, on 6/28/12

:candle For the sick, the lost, and the homeless

I am not sure exactly why it is so bad, but this is from the Ontario Veterinary Medical Association;

http://www.ovma.org/pet_owners/pet_health/...s_for_pets.html

It's also listed on the ASPCA website under their poison control section. I think the danger to pets is a fairly recent discovery; I only heard about it in the past couple of years (or less) - maybe why a vet thought it was okay?

Edited by maximum

My boys, together again...

cedarlodge2010027_zpsc250b3bf-1_zps9f4d4

A hui hou kakou, my loves

Petrodex breath spray for dogs also contains Xylitol in very small quantities. It appears to be safe in those quantities, but I'd be afraid of the risk that a dog could get hold of the bottle and take too much--especially a dog that might have other health issues.

I tossed my bottle of Petrodex. I decided it wasn't worth the worry, let alone the risk.

15060353021_97558ce7da.jpg