For Patricia & Fred

Guest CannonsMom

Guest CannonsMom

Sophia's passing has really affected me for days now...I have told the story to countless co-workers, the head of my group, my dog sitter...etc

yesterday, I received the following story from the head of my group. You were the first people I thought of after reading this. I am now passing it on, with hope that it will serve as a form of comfort to you both.

my heart goes out to you both every day....

Tania

WHY DOGS DON'T LIVE AS LONG AS PEOPLE

(Copied - Author unknown)

Being a veterinarian, I had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish Wolfhound named Belker. The dog's owners, Ron, his wife, Lisa, and their little boy, Shane were all very attached to Belker and they were hoping for a miracle.I examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer. I told the family there were no miracles left for Belker, and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.

As we made arrangements, Ron and Lisa told me they thought it would be good for the four-year-old Shane to observe the procedure. They felt Shane could learn something from the experience.

The next day, I felt the familiar catch in my throat as Belker's family surrounded him. Shane seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that I wondered if he understood what was going on. Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away. The little boy seemed to accept Belker's transition without any difficulty or confusion.

We sat together for a while after Belker's death, wondering aloud about the sad fact that animal lives are shorter than human lives. Shane, who had been listening quietly, piped up, "I know why."