When To Get New Greyhounds?

Guest psdirector

Guest psdirector

We have been planning on getting our first greys (two) when I start my summer break at the end of May (I'm a teacher). Now I'm wondering if that is the best time to do it and whether it will make the possibility of SA greater when I return to work in August? Would it be better for the dogs to get them while the school year is still in full swing - taking a weekend and a few days of personal time when they arrive - and then have a long break over the summer? Does it matter?

Guest Greyt_dog_lover

The best time is what is the most represented of your typical day. I am an adoption rep and I always recommend that people do NOT take any time off for their new hound. Greyhounds are very used to schedules, so bring one into your home and put him/her on your schedule right away. It is very difficult because you have a new best bud and want to spoil them and love them, but what you actually end up doing is exacerbating any anxiety that may be present. Have the hound in your house Sat or Sun, go to work on Monday like you typically would. One week later, your hound should adjust and be fitting in nicely.

Chad

why wait until the summer? you have a long weekend coming up for pesident's day, spring break and memorial day weekend, do it then. i agree w/ the statement above- sat or friday nite placement in the home and monday go to work. as with kids, it's sorta like what you expect. they thrive on a schedule. that's what they have had their entire life at the kennel.

Guest FrankieWylie