Walking Habits?

this is not a major problem, but i've always wanted to ask. when you take your dog(s) for a walk, are they more interested in sniffing than actually walking and getting some excercise?? all mine really want to do is sniff, and they don't really seem to care for the actual walk. maybe this subject is not very important, but every time i take them, i think about posting this. :rolleyes:

2rqyqhd.jpg

I've taught her where she's allowed to sniff -- there's only 3 places on our walk where she's allowed. Also, I've taught her the command "be free" and I then let her walk wherever she wants, instead of beside my left knee.

SummerGreytalkSignatureResized-1.jpg

Lisa B.

My beautiful Summer - to her forever home May 1, 2010 Summer

Certified therapy dog team with St. John Ambulance

Guest Iceman41

I have only had my hound for 8 months. I am new to greyhounds and big dogs in general.

But it's seems she likes to walk pee and poop a number of times on our walks

Summit is a huge marker. I think his real excitement about going for a walk is get out there and sniff stuff and pee on it. He is only allowed to stray from the sidewalk and sniff/mark when I give him the okay, which I do every block or two... depending on how far I intend for us to go, how fast I feel like walking, the purpose of the walk (exercise versus need to go out to pee one last time before bed). He does like to walk fast though, which is good because so do I. Left to his own devices when we go hiking though he is perfectly happy to stay and sniff stuff 100 metres behind me as I continue walking out of sight. I'm constantly turning around to see how far back he is. I call him, he comes and then finds something new to sniff while I walk away again. I'd love to know what smells so interesting. :dunno