Please Help Me Not To Worry Too Much!

Guest taylorsmom

Guest taylorsmom

Hello everyone--

This morning I found a swollen gland on the left side of Rita's neck, right under her jaw. It is the size of a large marble, and it is only on one side. I have noticed over the past few days that her breath is a little stinky--not terrible by any means, but just a bit more odorous than usual (my dogs are raw-fed so usually they don't have any noticeable odor on their breath at all). I have tried to examine her back teeth and I don't see anything major going on there--they have a little tartar buildup which I am going to have my DH (he's a dentist) chip off when he comes home tonight. I thought that maybe she has an abscess or infection going on there, but I don't see anything (not that I'm a vet!!). So I made an appointment with the vet for next Wed. morning, because my work schedule is crazy and that is the first morning I have free. I don't think this is an emergency, but of course I would like to know RIGHT NOW what is going on! My tendency, as I think many of us here do, is to jump right away in my mind to thoughts of lymphoma, etc. But I am hoping that, since it is only on one side of her neck (and believe me I searched her neck, compared her neck to my other greyhound's , etc.) that it is some kind of localized issue, and that the lymph node is just doing its job to fight some local infection. Otherwise, she seems fine--she is not in any kind of discomfort that I can see, is her usual goofy playful self, is eating/drinking/pooping/peeing just fine.

Can you guys keep me company with this while I wait until next Wednesday???? Of course if it dramatically changes/gets worse I will cancel my work appointments and take her in sooner, but am trying not to be immediately hysterical about this, you know?? :unsure