Wetting Her Crate During The Workday...

Guest LunaTheGreyt

Guest LunaTheGreyt

Luna is the type of dog that will sleep for nearly the entire day and all night without a stir. Lately though, she has been wetting her crate while I'm at work (7:30ish-4:00ish). She has not been having accidents while I'm at home, which would make me think UTI, so this behavior troubles me. She no longer shows signs of SA (thanks to having a dog buddy here) so I doubt that's the cause. She usually pees 2-3 times on our 10-20 minute walk before I leave and I don't allow an excessive amount of water in the morning. I started crating her while I'm at work because she had several accidents on my area rug during my first couple weeks back at work (I'm a teacher) so I stopped letting her have free reign.

Like I said, she is able to hold it for 10-11 hours overnight (if I'm sleeping in on the weekend), and yesterday I was home sick from work and took the dogs out at their usual time in the morning and afternoon, and she was fine. I definitely can't afford a dog walker as they are insanely expensive in my area -- since I have 2 dogs it would be over $15/day on average. I don't know any of my neighbors, but I know everyone in my building works. I do bed her crate quite thickly -- several blankets and a pad -- and she tends to pee underneath the top layer then cover it back up. Should I just put 1 blanket down and see what happens? I don't want to make her stay in a completely bare crate. I'm not really sure what to do if that doesn't work. :\ Thanks for your advice.

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest LunaTheGreyt

It actually doesn't sound like she's house trained?

She hasn't had an accident inside in ages...when she has to go potty when I'm home she'll go to the door and whine. But like I said, most of the time she'll go 8 hours easily without asking for a break. I'm just confused why she can't hold it when I'm gone for 8.5 hours.