Trying To Work On Eye Contact

Guest 302Crew

Guest 302Crew

Hello!

I have a quick question about my new boy.

He's been here only a short period of time - just over two weeks. He seems to be adjusting just fine to life as a pet, although I know it's still early.

Our issue: He is super duper excitable when it comes to other dogs when he's on leash. I mean inconsolable, whining, barking...staring. Until now, I have not found a way to break his concentration. It doesn't appear that he's aggressive towards them...just VERY curious and VERY excitable - but I'm no expert. Since I cannot break his fixation on the other dogs it just gets loud and uncomfortable for all of us.

The other night we were on a walk and a lady had 3 dogs off leash at 10 o'clock at night. One was a doodle of some sort, and he other two were 2 month old Chihuahua puppies...just running around on the road. It was one of those situations where we rounded the corner and we were suddenly surrounded by dogs off leash.

Sooo there we stood with our guy who is straight off the track. I actually had to yell at her to come get her dogs...and very quickly slipped the muzzle on my our boy. I think I sounded a little annoyed with her - which I felt bad about afterwards. Regardless all ended well for everyone, and I was rather pleased that our boy didn't have a full-on meltdown (I'm not sure he saw the tiny Chihuahua pups).

So for the time being we've been avoiding strange dogs on walks, and if we do get a surprise then we usually move out of the way and let the other dog pass. This doesn't always work because a lot of people want to stop and talk about our Grey - which is great. It gives us a chance to preach about greyhounds. However most of the time we have to cut the discussion short because he just never settles down if there's a dog there.