To Crate Or Not To Crate?

Guest Ledalia

Guest Ledalia

Does anyone crate their greyhound(s)? We have had our dog for just over three months. I am a graduate student and we adopted him right after the school semester ended. My schedule has been pretty flexible this summer so I have had the time to try to get him used to a bathroom schedule. Unfortunately I have not been very successful. He still has accidents at least once or twice a week, but sometimes even a couple times a day. By accidents I mean #2. Sometimes the accidents are understandable, like when he gave himself a stomach ache by eating half the box of his peanut butter treats in the middle of the night (I still have no idea how he was able to reach them on our shelf), but usually it's a solid stool with no signs of issues. He always goes in the sunroom which is located right by the front door so it's not in random locations around the house, at least. Lately the best way to prevent accidents has been to take him out in the middle of the day for a bathroom break. Now that school is starting soon I will not have the ability to work around his schedule... I need him to work around mine (if this is possible). I really don't want to come home to accidents every single day. I was wondering if crating him during the day would help. If anyone has advice on how to deal with accidents, I would love to hear it!

If he's had the run of the place for 3 months, crating him now may cause some issues. Can you try and schedule his potty breaks now so that he doesn't need to go out in the middle of the day? I don't know your feeding schedule but sometimes adjusting that will enable him to last through the day without having to go.

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee

Guest d0ggiem0mma