Advice For A Grey With A Brain Tumor

Guest Energy11

Guest Energy11

Hello Everyone!

Even though I have five greyhounds, and at one time, seven, this is my first time on Greytalk. A lot of you might know me. Dee McKimmey (have done first aid at Sandy Paws and Mt. Hounds), and used to be with GPA Senior Sanctuary of Florida. We now live in the North Ga Mountain.

I need advice and suggestions from anyone who has had a grey with a brain tumor. My Curfew, only 7, had "an incident" last Sept. The vets here called it a stroke. About four weeks ago, Cufew started having what I think were, either small seizures or mini-strokes. I am a retired Paramedic. I took him to the vet here. We did all the bloodwork, EKGs, etc., (all normal) and Dr. Karen told me she thinks he has a brain tumor. Unfortunately, the ONLY way to dignose this is with an MRI, which we CANNOT afford. :-(

Curfew is on Phenobaritol twice a day for seizure control, and Valium as needed for anxiety. The vets want me to start him on Prednisone for brain swelling, which I will do tomorrow (Monday). NIGHTS are the worst for Curfew! He whines and barks, but doesn't know what he needs. Last night, we had to "lure" him outside with kibble, for him to pee and poop. He also is very restless (again, mostly at night),... panting, drooling, etc. Valium helps this. He seems to be VERY confused. I am pretty SURE it is due to the brain swelling.

He is eating (Boy, is he), as Valium and Phenobarb cause an increas in appetite. He seems happy and "normal" sometimes, but definitely is getting worse. I WAS WONDERING IF ANYONE has gone through this before, and can share some of the things they did to help their greys, and finally, when they decided it was "time" to send them to The Bridge.

The day after my Bold Energy died, we adopted Curfew! I am closest to him, so close, I have even called him by my human son's name! Any advice, input or help from any of you, will be deeply appreciated! Prayers too!

Hugs and thanks! DEE