Seizure

Guest Eileen

I have a greyhound, for almost 4 years now. He will be 8 in May. He's been having, what I think, are little "mini-seizures" for about a month or so. This morning around 5 am he had a full blown seizure, that lasted a good 2 minutes or more. It always seems to happen either in the middle of the night or very early in the morning. Before this big one, he would just get out of bed and stumble around the hall way and by the time I'd get out of bed he'd be fine again. I used to be a vet tech and in the back of my mind I was thinking seizures. My vet, who I worked for for 15 years and trust, said to do nothing, which I expected he would say. I know he doesn't rush to medicate, but this morning, was a bad one, and he still said to wait, which I also expected, to see if he had another full blown seizure. At that time he would do a full work up on him.

He is thinking something other than eplispy because of his age, as I did. My question to you guys is, is this a common thing in greys? Any ideas or suggestions on what to do?

He's fine now, and was ok after about 45 minutes, ate breakfast like normal (the day he doesn't eat is the day I know he's really sick) and he's been fine all morning, just wanted some opinions.

Thanks.

I don't think it's common...and with the frequency and intensity changing, I'm not sure why you would wait to do a full workup. I'd get things started and I'd also start keeping a diary of timing/severity of each one...

I wanted to add...8 is not old, so I'm not sure what kind of age thing it could be...

gallery_2175_3047_5054.jpg

Michelle...forever missing her girls, Holly 5/22/99-9/13/10 and Bailey 8/1/93-7/11/05

Religion is the smile on a dog...Edie Brickell

Wag more, bark less :-)