Suggestions For A Shy Hound...

Guest AhSookieSookie

Guest AhSookieSookie

Newbie here! My husband and I adopted a 2.5 yr old brindle girl 3/6/11. Sookie has had perfect house manners, gets along great with my other dog and my 3.5 yr old daughter. She has bonded to me and will play a little bit, bounce a little bit when its just me and her. However, she is very scared around my husband or any other unfamiliar adults. She justs trys to run away or will pace and hide. No fear aggression or submissive peeing or anything like that. My husband can take her out on the leash but she will not approach him of her own free will. I think she got scared because he 1) is very tall and kind of looms over her, and 2)tried reaching to pet her as she was flying by and I think she felt like he was tring to nab her or pin her. Jamie desperately wants to make friends and she is coming around. She has only been with us for 1.5 weeks. I think she will overcome on her own but any suggestions to get her more comfortable?

Thanks!

-Sara

You might try, your husband being the sole person to feed, change her water, brush her etc.

Have him move slowly, while talking to Sookie and taking care of her. My husband is also extremely tall and big with a voice to match. He lies on the floor and talks to our spooky foster, letting her come and go as she will. He gives her tidbits of treats (very smelly ones) as she comes close to him, rewarding her without being on top of her.

Sookie will come around with time. Good luck and keep us posted.

gallery_14635_3193_11799.jpg