Advice For Palliative Care With An Osteo Dx

Guest mama_mia

Guest mama_mia

Hi everyone!

I am looking for some tips on palliative care for a hound with osteosarcoma. Our beloved Mia (11.5 years old) was diagnosed earlier this week with osteo in her rear left hock. She appears to be fairly early in her course but is not a candidate for amputation because of other orthopedic issues. For now, her pain is well controlled on Rimadyl and Tramadol. We will progress to Gabapentin when we need it. We've been giving her lots of love and trying to keep her happy. I know way too many of you are experts on caring for a hound with this horrible disease. My question: what are your tips for me? What was the best thing you did for your hound when you were (or are) in our shoes? Thank you so much for sharing your expertise with us!

I have no experience with osteo, so I have no advice to give. Just wanted to say how sorry I am to hear about your Mia's diagnosis :( Sending lots of :grouphug :grouphug :grouphug I hope you still have a lot of quality time left with her.

large.sig-2024.jpg.80c0d3c049975de29abb0

Kerry with Lupin in beautiful coastal Maine. Missing Pippin, my best friend and sweet little heart-healer :brokenheart 2013-2023 :brokenheart 
Also missing the best wizard in the world, Merlin, and my sweet 80lb limpet, Sagan, every single day. 

I suggest you come join us in the Osteo thread in H&M http://forum.greytalk.com/index.php/topic/292972-osteo-thread-part-vi/. The first post has good information and there are far too many of us have experience with Osteo. There are several people that have gone the palliative care route and have been able to provide a decent quality of life.

Edited by Charlies_Dad