Snarling/growling

Guest greytsmom

Guest greytsmom

Ok, I thought this would pass or I at least thought I had this behavior pin pointed. This is getting worse. PJay snarls/ growls (at times) when we are talking/laughing/ or if we just cough. Initially thought it was just when he was trying to rest/sleep. Not so. This morning, as per his usual routine, he had been napping in our bedroom and I was dressing. I got a tickle in my throat, coughed, and I thought he was going to come at me. He made NO move to, nor has he ever, but the snarl and growling was (and has been) frightening. He is otherwise a docile couch potato. He has done this for years and I can't get a handle on it. Any ideas what is going on and how I can change this behavior? No health problems...

I am not a newbie, just hadn't posted in awhile and had to rejoin.

Edited by greytsmom

If he's just making NOISE, have you considered the possibility he's just "talking" to you? Clearly if he wanted to or intended to bite or even snap, he would have by now.

Just a thought!

Hamish-siggy1.jpg

Susan,  Hamish,  Mister Bigglesworth and Nikita Stanislav. Missing Ming, George, and Buck

Guest greytsmom

If he's just making NOISE, have you considered the possibility he's just "talking" to you? Clearly if he wanted to or intended to bite or even snap, he would have by now.

Just a thought!

Actually, I had thought of this, but I have never seen a dog show his teeth and sound so frightening when just talking. I had a mutt once who talked to me, but never came close to sounding as ferocious as this.

Guest kydie

Just me, but I'd don;t think that should be tolerated, at this point of the growl, a very loud "NO" is in order, play growl is different than, a dominate growl He is talking to you alright, He is saying :shut up:

Guest greytsmom