Puncture Wound...

Teensy

So Irene bit the non-grey we're dog-sitting (perhaps a topic for a future discussion about space guarding), just to prove that no good deed goes unpunished. The dog is a chow/wheaten mix. It happened this morning, and I didn't even notice the wound until now. She wasn't complaining or acting out of sorts, and she didn't even yelp when they got into it. There was a very small amount of blood. It's not bleeding anymore, but I can see a puncture wound. I washed the area with water and grapefruit seed extract and put some neosporin on it, and then I called the vet. The vet is closed, of course, but I did speak with an assistant who told me that I should take her to the e-vet if possible, or keep it clean and have her seen on Saturday. Her owner is in Turkey on vacation, unreachable. I have zero experience with dog wounds, but this dog has a big scrape on her head that her owner is allowing to heal on its own, which makes me think that maybe wounds are not such a big deal on non-greys. On the other hand, this is a bite wound. What do ya'll think? Is this really an e-vet moment? Wait and see? Where would you as owners draw the line?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Teensy
3964308598_c55bc0aa88_o.jpg

Gosh, tough one. Did you discuss medical care before the owner left?

I would somewhat put myself in their shoes - would you want your dog treated if the situation were reversed. Whatever that answer is, I'd go with it.

The biggest risk is infection, given it was from a bite. If the wound won't close, a trip to the vet would be in order. Maybe you can post a pic and get more detailed advice, but my first reaction stands. Do what you would want someone to do for your dog.

Doe's Bruciebaby Doe's Bumper

Derek

Follow my Ironman journeys and life with dogs, cats and busy kids: A long road