Ls-how Bad Does It Get?

Guest csusan

Guest csusan

I am new to greytalk. I have a 11 year old (Butcher or Butch or Butchey boy) who I adopted from Greyhound Friends of North Carolina when he was 7 yrs. They are a rescue kennel. He was a return who was extremely ill and almost died. They think it was E Coli. Anyway, he was at the kennel for over a year before I adopted him. They said he had inflammatory bowel syndrome (IBS) related to the e-coli episode. He had very few bowel accidents at first which I assumed was related to the IBS. He always had an unusal gait which I assumed was old age. The bowel incontinence grew steadily worst over the last few years. I did all kinds of diet changes which sometimes seemed to help but the incontinence returned. He is extremely bowel incontinent now and has no clue when he needs to go. He is not bladder incontinent. I have just found out he has LS. I took him in to the vet because of the bowel incontinence and his difficulty standing or getting up. He had the Depo-Medrol injections and they lasted about a month and then we started him on the tramadol. I can't tell that it is helping much. He goes this week for more injections. The vet said we could do them every 2 months. Currently he has difficulty standing in one place. He will slump in the rear end and cross his back legs. He can get on the couch but has a difficult time getting off. Frequently, he can't get up from laying down and tries to get his back legs to move and they don't seem to cooperate. So much so that he will look back at them like why aren't you moving. He has a hard time getting up the two back steps which aren't steep. He will start toward them, back up, start forward, may even put a foot on the step and then back up again. It takes him about 3 or 4 tries to get up the steps. I think he has gotten much worse over the last few months. He can still go for a walk and can still lift his front legs and slap them down when excited. He is very alert and mentally st