Hello all -

As our dog settles in, we've been having some issues with aggression, primarily fear based with a small amount of resource guarding.

I contacted our adoption group and they put me in touch with a (non-vet) behavioral person. This person did a phone consult with us and we both agree that our dog is stressed and that is leading to this aggression.

There were a lot of instructions.

One was to begin giving the dog a serotonin booster called 5HTP. So, when I searched where to get this, the first 30 threads were about how dangerous this product can be.

I'm going to go meet with my vet before I give the dog any of the recommendations, but I'm particularly leery of this now.

Has anyone out there used 5HTP and if you don't mind sharing, what were the results?

Thanks.

I have not and there are plenty of neutraceuticals that can reduce fear and anxiety that do not carry risks. I have never heard of this being recommended for fear so red flags abound for me (I'm a professional trainer). I will ask on my listservs though. And I will PM you info on better options.

gallery_12662_3351_862.jpg

Jen, CPDT-KA with Zuri, lab in a greyhound suit, Violet, formerly known as Faith, Skye, the permanent puppy, Cisco, resident cat, and my baby girl Neyla, forever in my heart

"The great thing about science is that you're free to disagree with it, but you'll be wrong."

Uhm, as someone who has taken antidepressants for a good part of my life, I can tell you I have never ONCE heard of anyone prescribing them for "aggression."

And any SSRI takes up to 4 WEEKS to work. If your "expert" didn't mention that, I'd find a new one lickity split. Sounds like she has a new toy in her box and wants to try it out on your dog.

Hamish-siggy1.jpg

Susan,  Hamish,  Mister Bigglesworth and Nikita Stanislav. Missing Ming, George, and Buck