Gabapentin Dosage

What is a good starting dose for gabapentin. My vet prescribed 300mg ×2 daily. I only ask because she said she was giving a two week supply but only gave enough for one week. I asked at reception but they said the vet is out of the office for a few days. I just am worried to over dose him if it was only supposed to be given once daily.

thanks in advance.

Hobbes-Ricard Hatch09/23/99-12/21/09 Always loved, never forgotten. Wally TNJ Boy Howdy, GLS Genuinerisk Corinna

I don't recall whether he started on a lower dose (I don't think so, though), but 300mg 2x daily was Aston's maintenance dose for a very long time. If I recall correctly from older GT threads, there is a huge dosing range for gabapentin, and the 300mg 2x daily is in the middle of the range somewhere (and I'm clearly a vet :lol ).

Scritchies to Wally :beatheart

Not that I am an expert - especially when there are actual experts on GT! ;) - but that's a higher end milligram dose, but low end on the frequency. Dr Couto recommends dosing every 6-8 hours since greyhounds seem to metabolize gabapentin faster than other breeds (another one of their medical quirks). My Toni takes 300mg 3 times a day to stay ahead of her nerve pain, but Dude only took 100mgs twice a day for his osteo. So the dosage as prescribed by your vet is absolutely fine as long as it works, but you may need to adjust it up or down as time goes on. You *may* see some lethargy starting off on a high mg dose though chances are you won't see any side effects. Watch at about 6 hours after his doses to see if he's having any bleed-through of pain symptoms. Twelve hours might be fine to begin with for him.

Chris - Mom to: Felicity (DeLand), and Andi (Braska Pandora)

52592535884_69debcd9b4.jpgsiggy by Chris Harper, on Flickr

Angels: Libby (Everlast), Dorie (Dog Gone Holly), Dude (TNJ VooDoo), Copper (Kid's Copper), Cash (GSI Payncash), Toni (LPH Cry Baby), Whiskey (KT's Phys Ed), Atom, Lilly

Guest budsmom