Swelling On Leg After Ichon (Adequan Replacement )

I have been giving Missy adequan injections for maybe 6 months. Switched to icon I think about 6 weeks ago due to shortage. She has never had any reaction/swelling after the injection until today. I gave he rather shot around 4 pm. Walking her just now ( 10 pm) I noticed major swelling at the injection site ( left rear leg) I iced it when we got home. Didnt seem to be uncomfortable when i was rubbing the ice. She seems to be panting more than typical for her.

What did I do wrong? Anything else I can do for her?

Guest MnMDogs

Do you give IM? Is it hard or soft? I'm only familiar with injection site reactions in people, and sometimes injectibles (vaccines for example.) can cause hardness at injection site. But I think Ichon is probably not terribly reactive (I'm assuming adequan isn't). I've also seen them with a medication intended for IM getting administered accidentally subQ.

May want to call the vet if this is a new reaction. Does the Ichon package insert list this as a side effect? I just ordered some, and it didn't come with an insert!!!

Edited by MnMDogs

It is hard and swollen. I will call the vet in the morning as well as wher ei purchased it.

She just got up and her hind hend seemed more unstable..

I am starting to be uncomfortable giving the shots. Last week my little Ig got a bruise at his site,.

I am thinking, as they age they have less muscle mass?

Edited by dbullwinkel

Temp normal 100.5. I gave her 50 mg benadryl. Tech at vet said to ice it. If not down soon ( by noon) bring her in. Obviously if it worsens to bring her in sooner. I think I am done giving my own injections. This same thing happened with my Ig with adequan. I am not comfortable doing them any longer.

Guest MnMDogs

Don't blame yourself for giving a "bad" injection. It's virtually impossible-it's the medication.