Guest Kaila

Hi everyone! :D I'm new to the GreyTalk forums.. and actually, I'm new to the Greyhound/sighthound scene in general!

I've been in search of a Greyhound to train as a service dog. (I won't disclose my disability here yet, but I probably will at some point if I become more comfortable posting on this forum.) I was just wondering whether anyone here uses a Greyhound as a service dog and how the breed has fared in that line of work.

Up until a few months ago, I was raising a Golden Retriever puppy to be a service dog, but she washed out because she was overly afraid of noises and was never excited about working. :( I thought her anxiety was something we could just train through until I went to a service dog training meetup and saw how different her attitude was compared to other young dogs her age. I felt it was unfair to force her to be something she didn't want to be and I was having trouble keeping up with her need for exercise, so I retired her to the foster home she had been in before she came to me, and they adopted her.

I'm 23 years old but not very active because of my disability. I can do short daily walks just fine, but my Golden Retriever NEEDED two 45 minute walks a day in order to be somewhat happy inside my apartment. I did it until I physically couldn't anymore, and that's when she started trying to chew holes in my wall. (At the service dog meetup, we were out for five hours and she still wanted to come back to the hotel room and play. It was like she had unlimited energy.) I've heard that Greyhounds are very laid back and often make great apartment dogs because they'd rather sleep than demand constant play. How do you feel about your dog's energy level? Would you consider them to be a couch potato, or more active than not?