Feeding Bones For Dental Health

I'm considering starting to give Patrick bones for his teeth--so far he's doing well with yearly dentals, but given his age (12) I'm realizing at some point they might not be a possiblity anymore and brushing only goes so far.

But DH and I are vegetarians, and have no idea about what kinds of bones to buy, where to get them, how often would he need to have them, would he eat them all the way or just chew on them (and if so, when do I take them away).

Right now, he loves his veggie treats (and dog food), but I'm hoping to keep his teeth cleaner.

Any advice?

Beth, Petey (8 September 2018- ), and Faith (22 March 2019). Godspeed Patrick (28 April 1999 - 5 August 2012), Murphy (23 June 2004 - 27 July 2013), Leo (1 May 2009 - 27 January 2020), and Henry (10 August 2010 - 7 August 2020), you were loved more than you can know.

Guest azlorenz

I'm new to the whole raw bone thing too. We purchased our bones at our pet store. They have a freezer full of different kinds of bones. On the bag we purchased it says to give once a week and to only let your dog have it for 1 hour and dispose of to avoid bacteria issues.

Guest GreysAndMoreGreys

I used to feed raw knuckle bones. I find them hard to find now so I just go to the supermarket and purchase raw beef rib bones. The kind that most people BBQ. Ya those :)

I normally hand them out once or twice a week. For about 8 ribs it cost around $12

My crew wont try to eat the actual bone, they chew off the meat and gnaw on them a bit longer then walk away.

Guest dozersassy

Frozen Marrow bones work excellent. I ask at the grocery store and they do wonders!

I keep them in the freezer and maybe 1 or 2 times per week give them one.

Guest greyhound9797