Lump - Would You Have It Removed?

How long till the next dental anyway? If it's benign I'd probably wait rather than put him under twice, or at least move up the dental.

Beth, Petey (8 September 2018- ), and Faith (22 March 2019). Godspeed Patrick (28 April 1999 - 5 August 2012), Murphy (23 June 2004 - 27 July 2013), Leo (1 May 2009 - 27 January 2020), and Henry (10 August 2010 - 7 August 2020), you were loved more than you can know.

Why does the vet think you should remove it? Is it blocking an airway? Is it hard, soft, in a node?

Is it a lypoma (a benign fatty tumor)? If so, does your vet regularly remove lypomas? If so, I'd find another vet, because once a dog gets lypomas, they tend to get more, and you'll have to repeat the surgery process. It's my opinion (and the opinion of all but one vet I've met) that owners shouldn't bother removing lypomas.

FWIW--I'm not a medical professional (and I don't play one on TV-- :rolleyes: ) but I do have a mixed-breed dog who has a number of lypomas, each of which has probably been aspirated at least three times because I'm a nervous-dog-mommy, but I haven't had any removed.

I'd ask the vets LOTS of questions before subjecting a greyhound to anesthesia if there isn't a real need.

DD

ETA--Where in the neck is the lump? If it could be a lymph node, I'd see about getting tests done at a second vet.

Edited by DaisyDoodle

Donna
Molly the Border Collie & Poquita the American-born Podenga

Bridge Babies: Daisy (Positive Delta) 8/7/2000 - 4/6/2115, Agnes--angel Sage's baby (Regall Rosario) 11/12/01 - 12/18/13, Lucky the mix (Found, w 10 puppies 8/96-Bridge 7/28/11, app. age 16) & CoCo (Cosmo Comet) 12/28/89-5/4/04

How big is it? Is it interfering with his collar/harness or causing him any other difficulties?

If it's large-ish and/or growing, I'd probably remove it but wouldn't be in a huge hurry to do so.