Osto And Cancer

Guest GLUVER

Hi I'm new to Greys and I don't have one yet. I'm doing the whole research thing first, anyways reading these topics in here are really scary. Is it just a fact that so many Greys are sufferring with this, is that what I can look forward too? Also is there anything to look out for when you first get your dog...like how many races he's ran etc.

Most (all?) large breed dogs have increased susceptibility to osteosarcoma. While it is unfortunate that greys- with their big, long legs- have such an increased incidence of the disease, it is worth noting that due to improved nutrition and the level of prophylactic care (vaccinations, regular vet visits, etc.), dogs that are cared for by well-meaning owners are living longer than ever. Additional improvements have been made in terms of treatments that are specific to osteo; I seem to recall Dr. Cuoto's protocols are such that one-year survival rates are around 62% when amputation is used in conjunction with chemo. My point is this: every living organism has to die of *something*. Osteo happens to be present in greys- and other breeds- at a disproportionate rate. That it occurs more often at a greater age is, in a sad way, encouraging as it implies they are not succumbing to other disorders. Look at the nasty disorders in some other breeds, particularly from "puppy mills."