Osteomyelitis In Greyhounds

Guest kathydoctor

Guest kathydoctor

My 7 yo ex racing greyhound, Hunter, was diagnosed with osteomyelitis on May 13, 2007, infection of the bone, of the wrist after a very scary initial diagnosis of osteosarcoma. The signs and symptoms were very similar. If my rescue group had not supported me, and the fact that I am a human doctor who kept looking at his symptoms as if he were a human, , he probably would have died from infection over the week end with a fever to 107.

Has anyone else had experience with osteomyelitis in their grey hounds?

Specifically, complications, length of antibiotics,

Thanks

Kathy

Guest LynnM

Dr Bill is going to be the authority on the subject. I'm not a vet, but here's my 2 cents, having dealt with way too many bone infections.

If you're a human MD, then you already know what to do. Dogs aren't any different. If you haven't already, take a sample and send off for a C&S. While the sample's incubating, a combination of Baytril (enrofloxacin) and Clavamox seems work very well at knocking the infection down, if not fully clearing it. Once the C&S is back, the meds can be changed or reduced (if it's sensitive to a less expensive med like Clindamycin or Ciprofloxacin then by all means, go for it!). 4 weeks on meds is minimal (and only if you're using something that is especially nephrotoxic). 6-8 weeks is better. It *can* take as long as 6 months to clear, but that's unusual. I've seen it once and hope never again!