New Puppy Growling - Non Grey

Our Jesse is 4 months old now and she has recently decided to growl at anyone she see's, the rain, the wind, the bear in our campground last night (yep-a bit scary). She will then let out a small bark. We are hoping to not have a little yappy dog, and am wondering what we should do to prevent that from happening. Should we try to get her to stop the low growl and the bark ? Let her growl as a warning ? She is not going after anything, as she is scared to death if a dog barks back, or a person comes her way. If we are holding her, she loves all people, but not when she is down and wandering.

I am new to puppies, and Ruby only growls when Jesse is bugging her. Ideas ?

Karen

And this is what you get when you don't do socialization during the critical period up through 12 weeks. If you leave it as is, you are likely to get a reactive dog with defensive aggression who uses barking, lunging, growling, etc. to increase distance. You need to start doing that for her - immediately get her distance from whatever she perceives as a threat until she is far enough away that she can notice it without being uncomfortable - and then start pairing the appearance of scary things with *high value* food. High value as in chicken, cheese, meatball, steak bits, things she doens't get at other times because we are looking to use it to change her feelings about things. Something low value isn't going to be sufficient to do that.

And definitely do not do anything to "try to get her to stop" the growling. All you'll succeed in doing is punishing the warning signs or adding more stress to the situation for her (scary things appears and mom or dad gets scary - all the more reason to worry the next time I see that thing).