Imuran/azathioprine Handling Precautions... Oops.

So, in the poopstorm of medical issues that we were treating in Aston three months ago, and high dosing of pred and adding Imuran (given to treat IMPA, likely secondary to an undetected tickborne disease), I didn't equate Imuran with chemo, and didn't realize there were special handling precautions... just saw precautions mentioned in an older GT thread, while researching other things. Have been pre-cutting the 50mg tablets and pre-sorting them into a translucent daily pill holder with his other meds. Didn't realize that it needs to be kept in at least a semi-opaque/tinted container. Didn't realize it requires gloves. I knew it was a more hardcore drug, since we were dealing with a very acutely bad issue, but. Should have read up, I guess. My husband and I have been dosing him for three months now with bare hands, though at least I wash my hands after feeding him anyway (but I touch the refrigerator door handle and our shared bottle of fish oil with chemo-hands). My husband isn't as "obsessive" as I am with handwashing. sigh. Guess all we can do is take up better practices from now on, and clean up the med-prep area in the corner of the med shelf, since it's probably covered in dust from splitting tablets. From now on, I'll pre-sort his other meds, but will keep the pre-split Imuran tablets in their bottle, and shake one out onto Aston's food every other day.

We're still tapering him down slowly -- he's still on 25mg every other day for the foreseeable future.

Anyone care to reassure me that my husband and I won't curl up and die of lymphoma any time soon? I'm feeling particularly obsessive-compulsive tonight. :(
At least I'm not pregnant...

Edited by o_rooly

Guest MnMDogs