Hello All, Some Help Please?

Guest healthyliving

Guest healthyliving

Hi all,

Glad to be here. I'm a graduate student finishing up my Masters. I will be done in May, starting work in early July.

Based on my circumstances (dog allergies [fine with greyhounds]!, full time job coming up, and the free time between May and July), I think that it would be the perfect time to adopt my greyhound before I go off to work. This would afford me the time to get to know him/her.

My question is mainly, what do you think? Should I wait until I begin working to truly understand the demands of this post-graduate job (likely working 8-5, 9-6 and unable to come home midday)? I'd spend mornings/nights/weekends with the dog.

If I do wait, I won't have another large amount of time off for about a year (3 day weekends and national holidays are likely it).

I've done more research about greyhounds than is likely normal so I just wanted your expert opinions on my situation!

By the way, I will be living in a 2BR good sized apartment with a roommate/friend who is okay with dogs. Thank you all in advance!!!

Welcome to GT! :)

The extra time can be very helpful for a new transition, but many people adopt at the beginning of a 3-day weekend. Either way, it's extremely important to begin very brief periods of alone training within the first 2-3 days (only brief minutes away, but practicing many times each day). It can be difficult to build up too fast before a full work week.

Initially, I recommend business outings every 2 hours on Day one (during daytime hours), stretching it to 2.5 to 3 hours on Day two. Each day thereafter usually becomes easier (unless the dog has medical or transition issues requiring more frequent outings).