Natural Dog Training

I've come across the Natural Dog Training approach, started by Kevin Behan, also promoted by Lee Charles Kelley, a few times on the internet now. Has anybody used this with greyhounds on this forum, and if so, what was the outcome? I'm just curious. I hadn't heard of it before, but I'm always interested in different approaches.

I have no experience with this training method, and had hadn't heard of until now. But from reading about the "pushing exercise" on the site, I have to say that I don't see how this method is natural at all, and I'm not really following the logic of the dog 'pushing past emotional barriers'. I also don't agree with the comment that "hunger is nature's way of curing fear" nor do I believe in using hunger in the way they suggest to aid in training.

I'm personally not a fan of most of the 'named' training techniques as many are just marketing ploys. If you want truly natural dog training, you mostly just need observation, common sense, and a willingness to learn canine body language and communication. Out of all the books, authors, and speakers I've come across, I've found Turid Rugaas to be the most enlightening.

Jennifer &

Willow (Wilma Waggle), Wiki (Wiki Hard Ten), Carter (Let's Get It On),

Ollie (whippet), Gracie (whippet x), & Terra (whippet) + Just Saying + Just Alice

gtsig3.jpg

Nonsensical.

Star aka Starz Ovation (Ronco x Oneco Maggie*, litter #48538), Coco aka Low Key (Kiowa Mon Manny x Party Hardy, litter # 59881), and mom in Illinois
We miss Reko Batman (Trouper Zeke x Marque Louisiana), 11/15/95-6/29/06, Rocco the thistledown whippet, 04/29/93-10/14/08, Reko Zema (Mo Kick x Reko Princess), 8/16/98-4/18/10, the most beautiful girl in the whole USA, my good egg Joseph aka Won by a Nose (Oneco Cufflink x Buy Back), 09/22/2003-03/01/2013, and our gentle sweet Gidget (Digitizer, Dodgem by Design x Sobe Mulberry), 1/29/2006-11/22/2014, gone much too soon. Never forgetting CJC's Buckshot, 1/2/07-10/25/10.