Red Gums After Eating

Guest FlosMomma

Guest FlosMomma

Is it normal that my Flo has red gums around her teeth after eating? Sometimes, she even brushes her face against me/things, paws her face, nits, and/or makes funny sounds. I feed her Dick Van Patton's Natural Balance Lamb & Rice with different garnishes: ham shavings, shredded cheese, mixed veggies, beef shavings, or sardines. The coomon denominator is the dry kibble. Could it be that? If so, what do I switch to and how fast?

I think it sounds like an allergy -- but I'm no expert! I'd try her on an entirely different protein/carb combo (homecooked). If she's on lamb and rice you can try hamburger or chicken with noodles or potato. I'd also leave out the add-ins for a while. Wondering if she has the same reaction with treats/table scraps?

I'm not sure why people are assuming it's necessarily abnormal. I haven't inspected Beth's gums after eating, but I can imagine they might be reddish just from the friction etc. of the kibble. And is totally normal for a greyhound to rub/wipe her face on things after eating (the carpet, a bedspread, whatever's handy :rolleyes: ). Pawing her face might be odd, but some of the behavior you describe just sounds excited. Do the gums go back to a normal pink color afterwards? Does she not do any odd behaviors with her face except right after meals? If so, I wouldn't worry that much about it -- she's not going to have a brief allergy and then be fine.

Edited by PrairieProf

With Cocoa (DC Chocolatedrop), missing B for Beth (2006-2015)
And kitties C.J., Klara, Bernadette, John-Boy, & Sinbad

Guest FlosMomma