General Aging Question

My Argus will be 9 on Friday 01/02/09 (Happy Birthday, Big Boy!) and I was wondering what sorts of signs of aging I can expect to start seeing? Do they start to lose their sight or hearing like humans do? A couple of things recently have led me to wonder whether or not he is seeing and hearing as well as he used to.

Robin - Cordova (Memphis), TN

Argus (BB's Turbo) #86152 Oswald Cobblepot X Hilary Pride

Butler (GoodOleBoyRoy) #92232 Castor Troy X Princess Josie

Bridge Angel Callie (Tom S Macaroon) #87886 Black Streaker X Tom S Megan, April 15, 2000 - November 3, 2012

Although I only have one senior, age 10 - I am no expert, but I would think that it varies from dog to dog. I did not know Polli when she was 2 but all i can say is that even with her amputation, she still behaves like a 3 year old pup!

When was Argus' last well check up? Is it time for another?

ROBIN ~ Mom to: Beau Think It Aint, Chloe JC Allthewayhome, Teddy ICU Drunk Sailor, Elsie N Fracine , Ollie RG's Travertine, Ponch A's Jupiter~ Yoshi, Zoobie & Belle, the kitties.

Waiting at the bridge Angel Polli Bohemian Ocean , Rocky, Blue,Sasha & Zoobie & Bobbi

Greyhound Angels Adoption (GAA) The Lexus Project

I don't think of 10 as particularly old and I don't know many hounds that have lost their sight or hearing at the age of 10 that didn't have a medical reason attached, like Emmy. Andy at 10 still had excellent sight and hearing before he passed away. Usually what you see is just a general slowing down, liking to nap a bit more than usual and such.

I hope that there are no big problems for Argus and will keep nice healthy thoughts for him.

Judy, mom to Darth Vader, Bandita, And Angel

Forever in our hearts, DeeYoGee, Dani, Emmy, Andy, Heart, Saint, Valentino, Arrow, Gee, Bebe, Jilly Bean, Bullitt, Pistol, Junior, Sammie, Joey, Gizmo, Do Bee